Pesticides Banned for Manufacture, Import and use in India
S.No. Name of Pesticides S.No. Name of Pesticides
1. Aldicarb 19. Heptachlor
2. Aldrin 20. Maleic hydrazide
3. Benzene hexachloride (BHC) 21. Menzona
4. Calcium cyanide 22. Methomyl 12.5% L formulation
5. Captafol 80% powder (for export only) 23. Methomyl 24% formulation
6. Carbofuran 50% SP formulation 24. Metoxuron
7. Chlorbenzilate 25. Nicotine sulphate (for export only)
8. Chlordane 26. Nitrofen
9. Chlorfenvinphos 27. Paraquat dimethyl sulphate
10. Copper acetoarsenite 28. Pentachloro nitrobenzene (PCNB)
11. Dibromochloropropane 29. Pentachlorophenol (PCP)
12. Dieldrin 30. Phenyl mercury acetate (PMA)
13. Endrin 31. Phosphamidon 85% SL formulation
14. Endosulfan 32. Sodium methane arsonate (MSMA)
15. Ethylene dibromide (EDB) 33. Tetradifon
16. Ethyl mercury chloride 34. Toxaphene
17. Ethyl parathion 35. Trichloro acetic acid (TCA)
18. Lindane (Gamma-HCH)    

List of pesticides restricted for use in India

S.No. Name of Pesticides Type of restriction(s) imposed
1. Aluminium phosphide The Pest Control Operations with Aluminium phosphide may be undertaken only by Govt./ Govt. undertakings/ Govt. Organizations / pest control operators under the strict supervision of Govt. Experts or experts whose expertise is approved by the Plant Protection Advisor to Govt. of India except 1Aluminium phosphide 15 % 12 g tablet and Aluminum phosphide 6 % tablet. The production, marketing and use of Aluminium phosphide tube packs with a capacity of 10 and 20 tablets of 3 g each of Aluminium phosphide are banned completely.
2. DDT Use of DDT in agriculture is banned. In very special circumstances warranting the use of DDT for plant protection, the state or central government may purchase it directly from M/s Hindustan Insecticides Ltd to be used under expert government supervision. Use of DDT for the public health programme up to 10,000 metric ton per annum except in case of any major outbreak is restricted. The export of DDT to Parties and State non-Parties is strictly in accordance with the paragraph 2(b) article 3 of the Stockholm Convention (1972) on Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs).
3. Methyl bromide It’s use is restricted as fumigant for insect control in storage and to be sold only to government organizations and to be used under the strict supervision of government expert or pest control operators whose expertise is approved by the plant protection adviser to the government of India. Phasing out of production and consumption of Methyl bromide shall take place by 2015 as per Vienna Convention for the protection of Ozon layer and Montreal protocol on substance that deplete the Ozon layer.
4. Methyl parathion Use of methyl parathion 50% EC and 2% DP formulation is banned in fruits and vegetables and permitted in other crops where honey bees are not acting as pollinators.
5. Sodium cyanide Use of sodium cyanide is restricted for fumigation of cotton bales under expert supervision approved by plant protection adviser to the Govt of India.
6. Monocrotophos Use of monocrotophos in vegetable is banned but allowed to use in other crops.
7. Fenitrothion Use in agriculture is banned but allowed for locust control and insect-pests of public health importance.
8. Diazinon Use in agriculture is banned but allowed for household purposes.
9. Fenthion Use in agriculture is banned except for locust control, household and public health.
10. Dazomet Not permitted for use in tea crop.
11. Methoxy ethyl mercuric chloride Use in agriculture is banned except for seed treatment of potato and sugarcane.
12. Captafol The use of Captafol as foliar spray is banned. Captafol shall be used only as seed dresser. The manufacture of Captafol 80 % powder for dry seed treatment (DS) is banned for use in the country except manufacture for export.
13. Cypermethrin Cypermethrin 3 % smoke generator, can be used only by Pest Control Operators and not by the General Public.

Source: ICAR-National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources (